Dana Dillon Elected Chair of CalSTRS Board
Jerilyn Harris Picked as Vice-Chair

News release

 SACRAMENTO, CA  – The board of the California State Teachers’ Retirement System elected Dana Dillon as Chair and Jerilyn Harris as Vice-Chair for the 2007-08 term during its regularly scheduled meeting April 5.

The 12 members of the Teachers’ Retirement Board nominate and elect their chair and vice-chair annually; the officer positions are for one year’s duration, although the members’ terms are for a total of four years. The 2007-08 officers are:

  • Chair Dana Dillon is an intermediate grade school teacher from Weed, California. She has served on the board since her election in 2003, and as vice-chair the last two years. Ms. Dillon has been active in the California Teachers Association for more than 24 years, serving as state council representative, and was recently elected to the board of directors.
  • Vice-chair Jerilyn Harris is an award-winning science teacher with more than 25 years experience teaching in Ukiah and Beverly Hills. Ms. Harris retired from teaching in 2001 and has served on the Teachers’ Retirement Board since 2005. She is a former chair of the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing.

“I am looking forward to the challenge of leading the board to build on the successes we’ve enjoyed under our past chair Carolyn Widener. I am sure the board will work collaboratively on the tough issues we still face,” said Ms. Dillon. “Record-breaking investment returns and continued high customer service standards demonstrate CalSTRS is a well-run, expertly managed public pension plan dedicated to a secure retirement for California’s teachers.”

With a $159 billion investment portfolio, the California State Teachers’ Retirement System is the second-largest public pension fund in the United States. It provides retirement, disability and survivor benefits to California’s 800,000 public school kindergarten through community college educators and their families.