Public School Educators Elect CalSTRS Trustees
The three member-representatives to the Teachers' Retirement Board will serve four-year terms

News release Ricardo Duran

WEST SACRAMENTO, CA – The California State Teachers’ Retirement System (CalSTRS) today announced the election of three members to the CalSTRS governing board by current public school educators.

The election results were certified by CalSTRS CEO Jack Ehnes and identified the two Board members elected by pre-kindergarten to twelfth grade educators as:

Dana Dillon: an intermediate-grade school teacher from Weed. She most recently served as Chair of the board and was first elected in 2003. Ms. Dillon has been active in the California Teachers Association for more than 26 years, serving as state council representative, and was recently elected to the board of directors.

Harry M. Keiley: a high school teacher with the Santa Monica-Malibu Unified School District. Mr. Keiley was elected to the Teachers’ Retirement Board in 2007. He has served as the president of Santa Monica-Malibu Classroom Teachers Association and chair of the California Teachers Association Political Involvement Committee.

The board member certified as elected by community college educators is:

Sharon Hendricks: an Associate Professor of Speech and part-time Lecturer in the Los Angeles Community College District. She is a resident of Los Angeles. Ms. Hendricks has been a CalSTRS member since 2004.

The elected members will serve four-year terms, which begin January 1, 2012. Votes were cast by qualified CalSTRS active members and participants between October 1, 2011 and November 30, 2011. Candidates who receive the highest number of votes for a position are certified by the CalSTRS CEO as being elected.

CalSTRS Election Vote Totals 2011

K-12 (non-administrator)

Candidate District Number of votes received
Tyson “Guy” Moore Mt. Diablo USD 7,978
Dana Dillon Weed Union Elementary 11,684
Chad Posner San Juan USD 2,156

PreK-12 (inclusive)

Candidate District Number of votes received
Vince Rosato New Haven USD 2,536
Harry Keiley Santa Monica-Malibu USD 12,897
Tomas Flores Los Angeles USD 6,649

Community College

Candidate District Number of votes received
Sharon Hendricks Los Angeles CCD 4,778
Phyllis Hall Long Beach CCD 1,759

Legislation in 2003 established the election for these three seats to the 12-member Teachers’ Retirement board, which sets policy and makes rules for CalSTRS. The board also includes members named by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate representing the public, school boards, and retired members as well as four ex-officio board members: Director of Finance, State Controller, State Superintendent of Public Instruction and State Treasurer.

The California State Teachers’ Retirement System, with a portfolio valued at $148.2 billion as of October 31, 2011, is the largest teacher pension fund and second largest public pension fund in the United States. CalSTRS administers a hybrid retirement system, consisting of a traditional defined benefit, cash balance and defined contribution plan, as well as disability and survivor benefits. CalSTRS serves California’s 852,000 public school educators and their families from the state’s 1,600 school districts, county offices of education and community college districts.