CalSTRS Elected Board Seats Filled for 2020

What's New

January 8, 2019 was the deadline to submit nomination papers for the three elected seats to the CalSTRS Board. The four year terms begin on January 1, 2020.

Each PreK-12 seat (inclusive and non-administrator) and the Community College seat had only one candidate submit nominations. The following seats have been certified as elected, with new terms to begin January 1, 2020:

  • Harry Keiley: PreK-12 (inclusive) 
  • Denise Bradford: PreK-12 (non-administrator) 
  • Sharon Hendricks: Community College

Each seat’s nomination petition required 250 valid signatures. Pursuant to board election regulations, all three candidates have been certified to have been elected. 

The certification of these candidates as elected will provide the CalSTRS Board with experienced Board members who will begin their new terms on January 1, 2020. Harry Keiley and Sharon Hendricks are currently elected CalSTRS Board members. Denise Bradford will become a new trustee on January 1, 2020.

The next election cycle for the CalSTRS Board members to be elected in 2023 will begin in the summer of 2022 with a Notice of Election by CalSTRS Board action.